MBSalumni AGM 2011 PDF Print E-mail


It was on the 25th of June 2011 that the MBSKL Alumni Association (MBSalumni) held their anticipated AGM and EGM at MBSKL School Hall. Members of MBSalumni were served with a light lunch at the school canteen before proceeding to the School Hall. The registration counter at the MBSKL Hall of Fame (the entrance to the School Hall) were manned by Chan Ka Kiong, the Honorary Treasurer, Darryn Chiew, Executive Secretary, and Leong Yew Zheng, Administrative Assistant of MBSalumni. With a relatively huge turnout this year, they were kept busy sorting out documents to be handed out to members, renewal of membership dues, registration of attendees and passing out stickers to signify the members’ respective voting rights.


There were 64 alumni present, with 62 as members of MBSalumni (with voting rights) and 2 as observers (non-members). This was probably the largest turnout in recent years and showed a renewed interest in MBSalumni activities. 6 former presidents of the Association were also present, namely Yoon Fook Sang, Tham Keng Yeun, Jeffrey Yue, Leong Fook Ho, Chu Tham Sang and Yee Yue Sum. The AGM commenced at 1.20 p.m with the hall filled up by members. Four Scouts from the 10th KL Air Scout Group was also present to assist the MBSalumni staff in the election process and other general duties.

It was also the first time that members of MBSalumni got to experience the ambience of the newly air conditioned School Hall, one of the many projects undertaken by MBSalumni. The air conditioning also enabled for the windows to remain shut, thus blocking any outside noise. A microphone was also provided for the members’ of the floor to speak up during the Q&A session with the Committee, and saw its overwhelming usage throughout the AGM and EGM. In previous years, members of the floor had to strain their voices as there was no microphone provided. Despite the ongoing heavy construction in close proximity to the School Hall, the AGM was able to flow smoothly due to the abovementioned factors.

The multimedia presentation of the Committee’s report for 2010-2011 was well received to thunderous applause by the floor. The Statement of Accounts which was faithfully audited by Mr. Yee Yue Sum of Messrs. Y.S. Yee and Co. was also unanimously accepted by the floor without any queries.

The anticipated election process was slightly changed this year, with members agreeing to elect eleven committee members and give them the mandate to determine their respective portfolios. The reason for this change was so that the committee could optimize the committee’s line-up according to each individual’s respective talents and skill areas.

Under the watchful eye of Mr. Wong Chee Kheon, Chairman of the elections, the Scouts assisted the Executive Secretary in counting the ballots and after a short break, the result was announced with almost the entire outgoing committee re-elected and the outgoing committee’s president C.Q. Teo accumulated a staggering 94 votes. 3 new committee members were elected, namely Wan Heng Yuen (former Group Scout Leader of 10th KL Air Scouts Group), Charlie Ng and Au Peng Wah.

The newly elected committee members are (L - R) Au Peng Wah, Wan Heng Yuen, Charlie Ng, Chan Ka Kiong, Dr. Ho Shu Nam, C.Q. Teo, Yap Hoy Hoong, Jonson Chong, Lai Wing Fatt and Low Kong Ming. Ho Chee Wah is missing from the picture.


The president then announced a ten-minute break followed by the commencement of the EGM regarding the proposed disposal of the Association’s property. Members were briefed by the committee regarding the rationale and factors which led to the proposal. This was followed by a Q&A session to enable members to voice their reservations and queries regarding the proposal. After a long yet fruitful heart-to-heart discussion, the Chairman of the EGM decided to allow the members to try to find a better offer, as well as have more time to consider the proposal. Thus, he made a motion to adjourn the meeting to a date no later than 25th September 2011 and every member of the floor raised their hands in agreement.




Members in the hall



During the EGM (adjourned later)




Online Community

Who's Online

We have 105 guests online

Latest News 

Learning points from the Caregivers’ Forum held on 26 Aug 2017, Wesley Legacy Centre, Kuala Lumpur

News image

News | Tuesday, 30 January 2018

"Special appreciation and thank you to Dr Evelyn Ho, Ms Yeo Eng Lam & Ms Maria Kinson for giving consent to MBSKL Alumni Association to reproduce these articles & visual in their web-page ... Read more